SEC to Play 10 game Conference only Schedule

(LEX 18) — According to Sports Illustrated, the SEC will have a 10-game conference-only schedule for the 2020 season.

The season is also scheduled to begin on September 26 and the SEC Championship is scheduled for December 19.

The rescheduled start to the season will allow the SEC to continue to monitor health trends across its 11-state footprint, as well as monitor developments in technology around mitigation and treatment of the virus.

A revised schedule for the 2020 SEC football season will be announced at a later date following approval by the Conference’s athletics directors.

This means the Governor’s Cup between Kentucky and Louisville will not take place for the first time since 1993.